Be an Individual

As we have been settling into a new school year KC have been learning some very big lessons. We are learning how to work with lots of different people, how to listen to each other, how to encourage others, and how to think through new ideas.

Every year I am incredibly lucky to hang out with amazing kids everyday. They allow me into their world for a year and teach me everyday. This year is proving to be no exception to this.

Every student in my class is amazing. They are enthusiastic, curious, ready to learn and they love to share their ideas. I have been teaching them for just a few weeks now and in that time I have realised that KC is a class of wonderful, talented individuals. We are all individuals. We are all clever. We are all learners. We are all teachers.

I want my class to know that it is ok to have their own ideas. I want them to be resilient enough to stand up for themselves. I want them to have the confidence to test out their ideas, to try something new and to learn from each other. I want them to HAVE A GO!

A few weeks ago we read the book Elmer the Elephant by David McKee. Apart from being a bright and colourful book I love this book because it has an amazing message. Elmer is an individual. When Elmer realises that he is different to all the other elephants he tries to change to be like everyone else. He thinks this will make him happy but then he realises that not only does it mean that he is unhappy but that the whole herd is unhappy as well.

Elmer book    Elmer book 2

We painted our own Elmer Elephants with bright colours. Not only are they happy and bright- they are all individuals. As I walk into my classroom I can look up and realise that just like the Elmers hanging across my room- every student sitting (standing or bouncing) in front of me is a bright, colourful individual too. This could be a challenge or an amazing opportunity- I can learn from every one of them every day.

Elmer painting 3

Elmer painting

Elmer painting 4

About wpskc

I am a Kindergarten teacher in Sydney, Australia. I teach in a fantastic school with amazing students. I look forward to sharing in their learning every day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, We are Artists and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

